Protecting Your Privacy

All of Ontario's 14 Community Care Access Centres protect the privacy of your personal health information based on the requirements of the Ontario Personal Health Information Protection Act 2004.  

CCACs inform you of the personal health information that is collected, and the safeguards in place to protect your personal information to the levels required by the legislation.

What is personal health information?

Personal Health Information includes things like your name, address, gender, age, and health card number. It also includes your health status and care needs.

Your Privacy Rights

1. Your right to access your information

You have the right to access the personal health information contained in your record. You also have the right to have this information corrected in your record. You also have the right to change or remove your consent.

2. Your right to voice your concerns

If you believe any of your privacy rights have been violated in any way and the Chief Privacy Officer cannot resolve your concerns, you may contact the Ontario Information and Privacy Commissioner at 416-326-3333 or 1-800-387-0073 or via their website: http://www.ipc.on.ca

3. Your right to know how CCACs collect your information

The knowledge and consent of the individual are required for the collection, use or disclosure of personal information, except where defined by law, your local Community Care Access Centre will identify the purposes for which it collects personal information and will obtain consent prior to the time the information is collected.

4. Your right to know how CCACs use your information

Community Care Access Centres collect, use and share, with other health care providers involved in your care, personal and health information for the provision of in-home health and support services, in-school support services and to facilitate placement in a long-term care home. CCACs may use your information to prepare statistical reports. Statistical reports may be shared externally by the Community Care Access Centre however, these do not contain any client or staff information that could be used to identify the individual.

Helpful Links 

Ontario Office of Informaton and Privacy Commissioner 

Personal Health Information and Protection Act, 2004

Contact Us

If you have any questions regarding the CCACs privacy policies, access to your record, correction of information, or if you have a privacy complaint, you may contact the Chief Privacy Officer at your local CCAC.  To find the contact information for your local CCAC Privacy Officer, visit your local CCAC website and click on the button "Protecting Your Privacy".

Protection de votre vie privée

Les 14 centres d’accès aux soins communautaires de l’Ontario protègent le caractère privé de vos renseignements personnels sur la santé selon les exigences de la Loi de 2004 sur la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé de l’Ontario.  

Nous vous informons des renseignements personnels sur la santé que nous recueillons et des mesures que nous avons adoptées pour protéger vos renseignements personnels dans la mesure requise par la loi.  

Que sont les renseignements personnels sur la santé?

Les renseignements personnels sur la santé comprennent, entre autres, votre nom, adresse, sexe et âge, ainsi que le numéro de votre carte Santé. Ils comprennent également les renseignements concernant votre état de santé et les soins dont vous avez besoin.   

Vos droits en matière de protection de la vie privée

1. Avoir accès à vos renseignements

Vous avez le droit d’avoir accès aux renseignements personnels sur la santé qui se trouvent dans votre dossier. Vous avez également le droit de faire corriger ces renseignements dans votre dossier. De plus, vous avez le droit de modifier votre consentement ou de le retirer.         

2. Faire part de vos préoccupations 

Si vous estimez qu’il y a eu une violation quelconque d’un de vos droits en matière de protection de la vie privée et que l’agent principal de la protection de la vie privée ne peut pas résoudre le problème qui vous préoccupe, vous pouvez communiquer avec le commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de l’Ontario en composant le 416 326-3333 ou le 1 800 387-0073 ou en vous rendant à son site Web www.ipc.on.ca.

3. Connaître les moyens par lesquels nous recueillons vos renseignements 

Toute personne doit être informée de la collecte, de l’utilisation ou de la communication de renseignements personnels, et doit y consentir, excepté dans des cas précisés par la loi. Le centre d’accès aux soins communautaires précise les fins auxquelles il recueille des renseignements personnels et obtient le consentement de la personne concernée avant la collecte des renseignements.

4. Connaître les façons dont nous utilisons vos renseignements

Les centres d’accès aux soins communautaires recueillent, utilisent et communiquent, à d’autres fournisseurs de soins de santé qui participent à la prestation de vos soins, des renseignements personnels et des renseignements sur votre santé, pour fournir des services de santé et de soutien à domicile et des services de soutien dans les écoles, ainsi que pour faciliter un placement dans une maison de soins de longue durée.   Il se peut que nous utilisions vos renseignements pour préparer des rapports statistiques. Les rapports statistiques qui sont transmis par les centres d’accès aux soins communautaires à des personnes de l’extérieur ne contiennent aucun renseignement sur le client ou le personnel qui pourrait servir à identifier la personne en question.
 

Liens utiles

Bureau du commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée

Loi de 2004 sur la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé

Pour nous joindre

Si vous avez des questions concernant nos politiques sur la protection de la vie privée, l’accès à votre dossier ou la correction de renseignements, ou si vous avez une plainte concernant la protection de la vie privée vous pouvez communiquer avec l’agent principal de la protection de la vie privée du CASC de votre région.